You are here: Home SciFest@WIT SciFest@WIT 2017 Report

SciFest@WIT 2017 Report

Results and stats on SciFest@WIT2017

SciFest@WIT 2017 numbers

181 entries from

412 pupils supervised by

35 teachers in

24 schools from

5 counties: Wicklow, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary & Kilkenny. Assessed by

52 Judges making

464 judging visits to determine

23 awards.

Participating Schools:

Abbey Community College, Ferrybank

Ard Scoil na nDeise, Dungarvan

Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore

Árdscoil na mBráithre, Clonmel

Blackwater Community School, Lismore

Christian Brothers Secondary School, Carrick-On-Suir

Christian Brothers Secondary School, New Ross

Coláiste Éamann Rís, Callan

Coláiste Pobail Osraí, Cill Cainnigh

Comeragh College, Carrick-On-Suir

De La Salle College, Waterford

Duiske College, Graignamanagh

Kennedy College, New Ross

Loreto Secondary School, Kilkenny

Our Lady of Mercy Secondary School, Waterford

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel

Presentation Secondary School, Waterford

Presentation Secondary School, Wexford

Scoil Mhuire,  Carrick-On-Suir

Scoil na mBraithre, Dungarvan

St Augustine's College, Dungarvan

St Mary's College, Arklow

St Peter's College, Wexford

St. Mary's Secondary School, New Ross



SciFest Abbott
GSK Intel
Teva Boston Scientific
Eirgen Royal Society of Chemistry
Bausch & Lomb Esero Ireland
MSD Irish Science Teachers' Association
Biophamachemical Ireland Calmast
Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland Waterford Institute of Technology




Laurent Borla, Waterford Chamber

Liam  Byrne, Eirgen

Paul Carroll, Waterford Council

Derek Cleere, Abbott

Stephen Fagan, GSK

Dan  Galvin, Dawn Meats

Jesse Kielty, Sunlife

Kevin Maloney, West Pharma

Mike  Mc Menamin, TEVA

Tom O Ceallaigh, MSD

Margery Godinho, WIT Retd.

Don Madden, WIT Retd.

Mary Wallace, WIT Retd.

Jason Berry, WIT

Andrea  Bourke, WIT

Michael Breen, WIT

Lynn Brennan, WIT

Albert Byrne, WIT

Maria Cahill, WIT

Wayne  Cummins, WIT

Mervyn Doyle, WIT

Colm Dunphy, WIT

Susan Gallagher, WIT

Mariana Gavendova, WIT

Kathleen  Grennan, WIT

Ann Grennan, WIT

Audrey Hearne, WIT

Aoife Hennessy, WIT

Martin  Jones, WIT

Nabla Kennedy, WIT

Eleanor  Kent, WIT

Tom Kent, WIT

Bill Keogh, WIT

Padraig Kirwan, WIT

Evelyn Landers, WIT

Tony Lyons, WIT

Brendan McCann, WIT

Ultan  McCarthy, WIT

Nick McCarthy, WIT

Niamh Murphy, WIT

Fiona Nutty, WIT

Rob  O Connor, WIT

Orla O Donovan, WIT

Niall O Reilly, WIT

James  O Sullivan, WIT

Eleanor  Owens, WIT

Richie Ryan, WIT

Karen Tambling, WIT

Colm  Tynan, WIT

Siobhan Wall, WIT

Bruce Wardrop, WIT

Tony Woodcock, WIT

Hazal Yilmaz, WIT


Production Team WIT:

School of Science Administration

School of Engineering Administration

WIT Arena Team

Estates Office

Educational Technology Team

Marketing Office

WIT President Prof Willie Donnelly

Head of Science, Dr Michael Harrison


Special thanks to:

Sheila Porter Scifest

Jackie O'Dowd SFI SmartFutures

WIT Arena


Scifest@WIT Team

Scifest@WIT coordinator Cordula Weiss

Scifest team:

Martin Jones, Hazal Yilmaz, Mariana Gavendova, Atef Sarraj

Eoin Gill, Sheila Donegan



© Calmast 2017